Sister by Rosamund Lupton

There’s nothing like a good thriller to read on holiday. ‘Sister’ falls into that category, although I found it delightfully different from your average thriller in which the protagonist is a recovering , embittered alcoholic.

In this book, the main character, Beatrice, is by no means a detective, but she leaves her job and fiancee in New York and goes to London to find her missing sister, Tess. After a couple of weeks of searching, the police, and even their mother, give up on looking for Tess and presume her to have been murdered. Yet Beatrice refuses to believe Tess is dead and keeps looking, yet finds out along the way that she knows less about her sister’s life than she thought.

The plot and pace of the book are both good, and the suspense kept me reading. I loved how Rosamund Lupton depicts the relationship between the sisters, cleverly done through letters (or probably e-mails) from Beatrice to Tess, in a totally un-annoying way. The other characters are well written, especially their mother and Beatrice’s relationship with her.

This is Rosamund Lupton’s first novel and I hope she writes another soon.

Author: Nella

Passionate reader, sometime writer, part-time librarian. I couldn't survive without books. And, I suppose, my children. Or my cats. Or my dog. I read books and look after others.

Leave a Reply

