The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen

Oh dear, I could’t get through The Corrections. I didn’t even force myself to wade through it like I did with Freedom. I felt bogged down by the excessive detail and, again, could not feel or see the characters.

I hadn’t realised until reading Franzen’s novels how important that is for me, even if I’m reading a trashy novel. I picked up a Jilly Cooper the other day (I loved her shorter novels when I was a teenager – they were full of naughty sexual innuendoes) and couldn’t get past the first chapter because it was rather trivial, but I could see those characters; those polo-playing rakes and ravishing female heiresses.

I won’t start reviewing The Corrections, because I didn’t read far enough into it to say anything intelligent about it except that I couldn’t bring myself to carry on past the first quarter. Is there something wrong with me, or is there something wrong with his writing? Neither – it’s all to do with personal preference and personally I didn’t feel like persevering with it.

Author: Nella

Passionate reader, sometime writer, school resource manager. I can't imagine a life without books; nor my children, my cats, my dog, my family, my friends. I belong to two book clubs, and I don't mind in what form I read a book - a paper one, an electronic one - as long as I read.

2 thoughts on “The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen”

  1. Oh dear, I could not put The Corrections down! Just loved it. Am i a shallow person that i do not need to see the characters? lucy

  2. I had the same experience as Nella with The Corrections, but I absolutely LOVED his latest one Freedom. Even though there was one part of it that I found boring and skipped. On the whole I found it a riveting look at disfunctional families in a disfunctional world. But what the hey, we haven’t changed much as a species over the years and you gotta have some compassion for us poor souls just trying to live and love as best we can. Some of the “issues” have changed, but human emotions and drives are still the same. That’s kind of how I summed it up. I am determined to go back to The Corrections at some point to see if my experience of it might change in the light of my experience of Freedom.

Leave a Reply

